The Bling Ring


I’m pretty sure this is the worst cold I have ever had in my life and it’s been going on for nearly two weeks. But it’s not all bad because I got to watch The Bling Ring. I had been looking forward to watching it for months so I was glad that I finally got to do so.

The movie is based on actual events that some teens did. The group of teens is extremely fame obsessed and they start to rob the homes of celebrities’ houses as a hobby.

This may not be worthy of a bunch of trophies but I think it makes a statement while it still manages to be a movie that you watch for fun. It deals with the relevant topic that is obsession in material things. What the movie portrays is a bit of every teens dream. To have money, fame and the feeling that you can do whatever you want. Since it’s a movie they show the extreme sides of this by making the characters rob the houses. So the movie is something you watch for fun, but what you can read out between the lines is actually quite intriguing.

But this is still the movie that is perfect to watch with a chocolate bar and a relaxed mood. The movie is slow at parts and I think it’s perfect to lighten up a rainy Sunday evening. The characters are stereotypical and the acting is not exactly academy award material. But it is fun and I really enjoyed watching it. The only disaster of the movie was the ending. I found it to be pretty horrible and that took down my score with a point. Otherwise this is a fun movie even though it’s not a comedy and the subtext makes a statement. 8 / 10

Leave a Reply

