Burning Blue


For the past couple of days I have been feeling kind of blue and even if I have updates it’s mainly negative reviews so I haven’t felt like posting them. It has just been one of those weeks where many things fail. I started five books that I stopped reading because they were so bad and the book I really want to read has yet to show up in the mail box. Not to mention that the weather has been just as blue as my mood so this has not been the best week for me.

But now it’s Sunday and it’s time to be positive again. Unfortunately Burning Blue did not leave me feeling cheerful at all. This YA book came out last year and it is kind of a mix between mystery, contemporary and romance. It seemed like an interesting story but in the end the book I wanted and the book Paul Griffin had written were two entirely different things.

The story is that the most stunning girl in the school gets splashed with acid on the left side of her face and then the loner in the school tries to find out who did this to her. It seemed like a good realistic story but it just turned out to be messy. There was something about the writing style that didn’t capture me and the perspective shifts were not something I liked either. The ending twist was pretty good, but it did not save the boring plot and the story we have all heard before about the loner boy coming out of his shell to help the previously popular girl. 3 / 10

Leave a Reply

