Ego


This is a Swedish movie that was in the theaters about the same time as Les Miserables. (Could it have been in December?) This was the movie many people talked about so I decided it was about time that I would finally see it.

This is a story about the typical rich boy who hits on all the supermodel looking girls. Until he loses his sight and everything gets a new perspective and one day he falls for a girl who is not a supermodel-look-alike and just a normal girl, but he doesn’t know this of course.

For the fist twenty minutes I wanted to throw a baseball bat at my TV. Not only did the opening contain one of the songs I hate the most, it also showed me that the entire movie was going to be a big cliché! I mean I had already guessed it from the plot summary but I did not know it was going to be this bad! I carefully calculated in my head that I would probably get the worst headache ever if I kept hating every second of the movie so I decided to accept that this movie was going to be all about clichés.

Then I started to try and like the movie for what it was and then it got a bit better. This does not help the fact that we have all seen this movie before. But I guess people actually like the movie for that ridiculous love story that I hate so much. Then we have the whole I am a singer aspect that I did not really like either.

In the end this is a typical movie that we have all seen before. Still I have to say that it is pretty well done but this is not the type of movie that will ever be better than average due to the overused concept.  5 / 10

 

Leave a Reply

