After Earth


Movies always come in time periods for me and right now I am not really in the mood for movies. So I decided to watch a new one to get me back in the right mood. I had seen the trailer and I thought it was going to be fun to watch a movie with Will Smith in it again. His son Jayden is also in it and everyone wants to see if he is equally good as his father.

After a crash landing a father and his son gets stuck on planet Earth. The father is injured and the sun must journey in order to be able to send for help. The problem is that Earth has changed and every animal has evolved to kill humans…

I don’t know if it was the trailer that caught me but this is just ridiculous! It is embarrassing to say how bad it was and how disappointed I am. The plot was awful, there was nothing that unique about it and the ending was way too predictable. Sure Will did a job that barely manages to qualify as a decent acting job but with an annoying and bad character there was just no way that it was going to get good.

To make things worse Jayden Smith did not exactly show of his best side. Both his acting skills and his character were bad… Even his voice was annoying! Giving him the typical role of “I will be going on an adventure to save someone” did not exactly help either. I also felt that the plot was pretty shallow, we have seen similar stories before and since it only scratched the surface of what could have been I ended up not caring about the plot at all.

Some say that you should always end on a positive not and the positive side was the visuals. I thought they were good but good visuals can’t save a movie that fails in every other aspect. 4 / 10 and I am being nice here… If you don’t believe me then check out the IMDB ratings, I took a look at them after having watched the movie and they gave me quite a chuckle.

One comment on “After Earth

Leave a Reply

