Baking Tip: Vanilla aroma (Vanila essence)


Sorry for my absence (again). With spring coming unforeseen events usually happened, like BBQ’s that I was not prepared for. Nor was I prepared for a trip to the emergency and definitely not for the strangest inflammation I have experienced in my life.

Therefore I will keep things simple today and you will get a baking tip instead. The ones who have followed my recopies for a while have probably noticed that I use vanilla aroma a lot. I discovered it about half a year ago and I love it. When I translated it from Swedish it appeared to be Vanilla aroma in English, but it seems as if it’s actually called vanilla essence. So I have apparently translated it wrong all along, but nobody has corrected me so I think you got what I meant? Either way I will try to remember that it’s called vanilla essence from now on, but I won’t go back and edit it in all my recipes since no one has misunderstood me so far.

Vanilla essence is used as a replacement for vanilla sugar. It’s in liquid form and 2 ½ teaspoons of vanilla essence is the equivalent of using 1 tablespoon of vanilla sugar. The good thing about the aroma is that I think it gives the cakes / cookies a purer vanilla taste which is why I use it as much as I do. Vanilla essence can probably be found in the baking section in most grocery stores.

For the Swedish ones: This is the one I’m using and it can be found at Coop stores at least (I bet the other stores have them too.)

An English sample (bless Google Images)

Leave a Reply

