Robot & Frank


Movies that bring something different are always extra nice to watch. Even if they fail you still like them for their originality, I’m glad to say that this movie was anything but a failure.

The movies main character is an old man with severe memory issues, well the word severe is definitely optional but one realizes that there is quite a lot that he does not remember. He lives alone and his kids are always miles away living their own lives. Therefore he gets a robot as company. In the beginning it is against his will, but he realizes that he can teach the robot one of his hobbies; burgling.

What could possibly go wrong, a senior and his robot walking around and stealing things? Even though I believe that it’s firstly a drama movie and secondly a comedy movie it got quite a few mental laughs out of me. It is not a movie that makes you laugh out loud until your eyes are watering but the scenario is extremely comical.

As it is also set in the future it almost instantly becomes likable to me. The movie also felt fairly realistic, there were no flying cars and I felt that the time era was done In a good way. It was quite easy to believe that humanity could be there in some decades.

There were some bad things tough; the daughter in the movie was annoying. That was intended but it still managed to irritate me… I think it was her voice and the way she talked that was the worst part. The second thing was the ending. With an awesome storyline it was a shame that I did not liked the ending. If I divide the ending into two parts I liked the first part, but I did not like the final conclusion. I know why it was there, to avoid the normal cliché but this was the kind of movie where I wanted a standard ending.

In the end it was not perfect, but it’s always fun to see something different, the story is pretty light and I think most can enjoy a movie like this. 8 / 10

Imdb

4 comments on “Robot & Frank

  1. Ravijojla says:

    Agree with what you’ve said, not the best movie ever, and has definitely a bunch of little faults, but it’s charming and pleasureful to watch!

    • That’s great, even though it’s not the best movie ever made I think many will like the cuteness of the movie, and also like a friendship movie for a change instead of all the romance ones out there.

      • Ravijojla says:

        Yeah, friendship movies are so rare in comparison to the romance ones. Stand By Me is one of my favorite classic friendship movies!

      • They really are, therefore I really appreciate them when they appear and Stand By Me was a great movie! I have many memorable moments from watching it, even though it was years ago.

Leave a Reply

