About a Boy (Movie)


After reading the novel it was about time to check out the movie from 2002. I may not have been the book’s number one fan, but the movie adaption was really good. It’s a pretty famous movie and I would really recommend it if you have missed out on it.

Set in London (1993) we follow the life of Will (a rich reckless adult) and Marcus (a highly unusual kid with a strange mother.) Their lives are immensely different but their pathways cross and they have to make the best of the situation.

I may not have appreciated the humor in the book, but the movie actually made me laugh a few times. Sure the cheesy happy family stuff is not my thing either but it is a good coming-of-age story since it is so different.

The acting was great. I do have my doubts about the kid tough, he did a good job with the acting so it’s more of a character dislike than his acting abilities, but those things are sometimes hard to separate between the two and therefore I am not entirely content. Luckily Hugh Grant was a great Will and saved the day.

The plot was as I previously thought better suiting for a movie and therefore it was a joy to watch. It really was one of those rare occasions where the movie really was better than the book. I seldom watch British movies so I was glad that the accent did not bother me that much and it suited the movie in a good way. It is a perfect family movie that will give you quite a few chuckles.

That is pretty much all I have to say but if you can’t choose between reading the book or watching my suggestion is to actually watch the movie. 8 / 10

Imdb

6 comments on “About a Boy (Movie)

  1. Jack Flacco says:

    I can’t believe it’s been over 10 years since I’ve seen this movie. From what I remember, I liked it. I didn’t love it. I think because Hugh Grant played in it at the time and I wasn’t a big Hugh Grant fan. But maybe I’ve changed with age and a second viewing may prove appropriate at this juncture in my life. What I do remember is the boy. He changes Hugh Grant’s character. I found him entertaining and enlightening. Hmm, on second thought, I think I’ll try to find me a copy and watch it. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Yeah you should, I don’t really have an opinion on Hugh Grant, but I think he did a great job in the movie. Your welcome, I can’t really believe it either, the first time I heard about it was when I was about seven, but until yesterday I had never seen it.

  2. skunkieboo says:

    I had thought about seeing this since I seem to be on a Nicholas Hoult kick (Warm Bodies, Jack the Giant Slayer) but wasn’t sure. I think I’ll check it out.

  3. Hello! Just stopping by to let you know I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check it out here.

    ~ Lynette @ Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

Leave a Reply

