If there was a war in Scandinavia


I’ll admit it; I don’t know the official title of this book in English. I did some Google searches but I could not find proof for that the book has been translated to English, tough it is available in: Danish, German, Norwegian and Swedish. It’s written by the Danish author Janne Teller and I would translate the book title to “If there was a war in Scandinavia.”

The plot for the book could not be more obvious, but there is a war going on in Scandinavia and you and your family must flee to Egypt, and that’s pretty much it.

Short summary for a short book, I was quite surprised when my mother dropped the book on my desk… It’s tiny, in all aspects and it’s only a 60 page book and much of those pages are covered with images?!

Really, really not mu cup of tea… The point of the book is to make the reader see themselves as a refugee. It’s an interesting thought and it is a thought that have sometimes crossed my mind, unfortunately it all went downhill from there.

As there are not even 50 pages with words in them you really don’t relate to the plot at all. There was no character development, the characters had no feelings or thoughts and it was written from an all knowing 3rd point of view. The images covering the pages where ugly and the tiny format was fun but annoying and it all felt very pointless to read.

This was overall so bad that I am not even going to give the book a point for the original idea. 1 / 10, I am even considering replacing that 1 for a 0.

Since I could not find and English cover I decided to compare the tiny book I got (the left one)  with a completely normal paperback book (the right one).

Since I could not find and English cover I decided to compare the tiny book I got (the left one) with a completely normal paperback book (the right one).

Leave a Reply

