Cinnamon Buns


My updates have been pretty slow this week… Why? Because recipe was kind of hard to translate and therefore I postponed it. I do think that I had been postponing it too long. So now you have it, Sweden’s most famous bun recipe. Cinnamon buns take a while to make and I tried to change the recipe around a bit, using raspberries and blueberries! Sounds great but it looked like a pig had been slaughtered in my kitchen when I was done and they tasted really bad…

Therefore I decided to make original cinnamon buns with organic ingredients and change a procedural thing. A good thing to remember is that you need a strong machine to mix the dough, or you can simply make everything by hand. This recipe will give you about 40 cinnamon buns.

Oven temperature: 225 – 250°C  Oven time: 5 – 10 minutes Time to make: about 3 hours

Warning: This will be a long but hopefully helpful post…

Ingredients:

150 grams of organic butter

5 deciliters of organic milk

50 grams of organic yeast

1 deciliter of organic brown sugar

½ teaspoons of off organic salt

850 grams / 1,4 liters of organic wheat flour

Filling ingredients:

150 grams of organic butter

1 deciliter of organic brown sugar

2 tablespoons of cinnamon

1 organic egg

Organic pearl sugar

  1. Heat the milk to 37°C
  2. Mash down the yeast in the bowl you will be using. Then add the milk and stir. Add the butter (in small pieces), the sugar, and the salt.
  3. Save ½ deciliters of the flour and slowly pour and stir the rest into the dough.  Stir the dough a lot ( 5 minutes with a machine, 10 minutes by hand.) Cover the dough with a tea towel / kitchen towel and let the dough ferment for 30 minutes.
  4. Put the dough on a slightly floured space e.g. kitchen table and roll out the dough so that it’s thinner than a centimeter in thickness and the dough should be rolled out in rectangular shape. (You will have a lot of dough so it might be vise to split the dough into some pieces.)
  5. Now comes the first part where I will give you two options. A) Melt the 150 grams of butter and let it cool down a bit. Then add the sugar and cinnamon into that mix and stir. Then you take a spoon and pour the content over the dough and spread it out evenly. B) Use room temperature butter and butter the dough in a sandwich fashioned way. Then pour the sugar and the cinnamon evenly out above the buttered dough.
  6. Another paragraph with options here. (I will have pictures of all this below.) A) simply roll the dough to a cylinder and use a knife of similar and cut it into pieces. B) The hard way (I prefer this way since I think the buns look a bit better, but it is more time consuming…) Cut your dough into lanes (about 3 centimeters thick). Then grab the ends and twirl them in opposite directions (be careful since the dough might tare while you are twirling). Then grab on end and spin the end towards the rest of the bun lane so you eventually get a circle. Like I said this one is harder but even if you do poor job at the last one I still think option B looks better than A.
  7. Put all the buns on trays covered with baking paper and let them ferment under a tea towel for about 40 minutes.
  8. Crack the egg in a cup and stir it. Brush the buns with the egg and pour pearl sugar over them.
  9. Put the tray(s) into the middle of the oven for about 5 – 10 minutes in 225 – 250°C . Now you are finally done.
The "ugly" way

The “ugly” way

The "fancy" way

The “fancy” way

The result

The result

2 comments on “Cinnamon Buns

  1. Jack Flacco says:

    Fantastic job with the ingredients and directions. I found it easy to follow and quite delectable to imagine trying. I have yet to try my hand at baking, although my wife is incredible at it. I also enjoy cinnamon in any recipe. Be sure I’m passing this recipe to my better half to try for us on a cold winter night this month!

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad it was easy to follow because that was the thing I was most worried about when I wrote it down. I am not really that good at baking but I do my best. It is a recipe that pretty much everyone likes and even though it takes some time to make I really think you might like it if you appreciate cinnamon in cakes and it’s not that hard to make so it could definitely be worth to pass on to her. They really are perfect for a winter night and you could try to taste them when they are still warm, I at least think it makes the buns taste even better. Oh, and let me know what you think once you have tried them.

Leave a Reply

