Mockingjay


I finally did it. I finished the Hunger Games franchise and it only took me about 5 years…

Spoilers from previous books (especially the second one might appear, but as allways I will try to keep them on a low level.)

The final installment in the series starts by setting it’s scene in district 13 after the second hunger games Katniss competed in ended. In this book Katniss is the hope for all the rebels and she must try to start and end a revolution successfully, without destroying the entire population and the ones she loves.

I can officially say that I am no almost entirely sure of why I don’t like this franchise. It is all in the narrative voice of the main character. I do not like her mind is portrayed in the books and since it’s all seen from her point of view it becomes very hard to like it. I do not connect to her train of thoughts at all and most of her thinking patterns seem a bit too odd for me when I’m reading them. I this book she is extra confused with make her thoughts even blurrier and I often don’t understand why she thinks and acts the way she does.

I do think that the plot is actually pretty good in this book. With two books having their major part in the actual games it was nice to see that there were no games at all in the last book. This of course meant that they needed to fill the pages with something else. This time it was about the war of the rebels. It may sound pretty interesting but in the end I got sick of the war and the explosions…

The characters were not so good either so once again I sensed the feeling of a good Idea but it came with a bad execution. I was constantly waiting for this book to improve while I was reading it and even though there were some interesting parts they did not make up for my time at all. In the end I’d say that the hunger games were an overall disaster, but luckily the second one helped it out a bit since I actually liked it a bit. You can’t however say the same for this one as the end result was an even worst feeling now than I had when I was reading the first one. 4 / 10

4 comments on “Mockingjay

  1. williamjepma says:

    I definitely agree with you. I feel like after the first book, Collins’ publisher forced her into writing sequels, which made them seem forced and lacking in any kind of impact.
    And Katniss is, contrary to popular opinion, is not a great character either. She has no character arc (she’s the same person by the end of book 3 as she was in book 1), and the ending of Mockingjay is almost a joke. It irritates me that this and the Shades of Grey series is what hogs the bestsellers list. Whatever happened to well-written fiction?
    Okay, rant over. 😉

    • I actually only liked the second book for some random reason. I also agree with you that Katniss did not develop during the series and even if she did I would probably not have picked up on it when I was reading the book since I can’t really understand her thought and her behavior. It irritates me that they are the best sellers as well.
      For the last part I have been wondering that as well. Luckily I have found a really interesting book that I have started up with today and so far it seems perfect for me, so we’ll see how it turns out… 🙂

  2. I actually agree with you on a lot of your points here. Personally, I loved the first book, and really liked the second. The third, though, ruined it all for me.

    I felt that with Mockingjay the plot was too forced, and, in all honesty, got them nowhere in the end. Her whole goal was to *SPOILER* assassinate President Snow, which she a) never did, and b) even when she had the opportunity, it was no thanks to anything she’d done. It was all Coin.

    There were parts in the book where I actually enjoyed it, or was pulled in, but overall the lasting impression I have had since reading it was one of distaste. To much meaningless blood and gore. And don’t even get me STARTED on the characters… they all got ruined in Mockingjay.

    SO. My solution? I pretend Mockingjay never happened. My reading it was all just a dream. 🙂

    • True, the plot was forced as you say and even though there were a few interesting parts most of the plot got a bit repetitive and just like you said it went nowhere in the end..
      I never really liked the characters but it took me all the way to the final book for me to realize why. The ending was also probably the worst epilogue that I think the series could have gotten.
      Overall this was not the best book series for me, but I am glad I read them because now I at least know my opinions on the entire series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

