Catching Fire


Note: this is the longest review I have made but I feel that it’s needed in order to state my point of view without revealing it too much.

This is the second book in the hunger games series written by Suzanne Collins. I read the first book when it came out in 2008 and I hated it to the extent that when the movie came out last year I barely remembered what it was about. So if you want to read a review from someone who loves the series you should probably go looking somewhere else.

I like the idea of the games as a concept but I do not really like how it was portrayed neither in the book and the movie. But since I do like the concept I thought that and being a bit optimistic and since the movie is coming out in November and I will probably see it I figured that I might as well read the book beforehand with the hope of it being better than the last one.

This time we get to follow the main character Katniss Everdeen on her victory trip after the hunger games with her fake on-screen boyfriend Peeta Mellark. Breaking the rules and having two contestants from District 12 has deeply aggravated the president of the post-apocalyptic nation named Panem. The rich ones in the capital District 1 are ecstatic over the victory and they can barely wait until the next hunger games…

But in some of the poorer districts the people have had enough of the gruesome game and the injustices in the different districts and therefore a rebellion against District 1. The president does not take this well and sends Katniss out to calm things down.

There will be spoilers about the games in this paragraph so skip it if you do not want to see them.

It was no surprise that Katniss had to go back inside the games but it was not in the way I imagined it. The idea of a completely different arena and competitors were also a great aspect and it all had a dramatic end to say the least, so I think a good job with being fairly innovative this time… Which natural makes me wonder how they are going to top that one off in “Mockingjay”.

End of spoilers

If you wonder why I made the paragraph above a spoiler paragraph, even though I had no major spoilers in it, it’s because of the fact that the games are the most important part of the books and I thought that some might want the happenings in that aspect to be a surprise.

I thought that the plot was much better compared to the first book but it did start out a little slow. The good things were not happening until I got about a 100 pages in. Once it gets there it sure is fun to read since Katniss have so many plans and theories on how to tackle her situation. Suddenly things take a different turn which is good for keeping the reader going.

I have finally also understood why I’m not such a huge fan of the book. It is all in the characters, you don’t really feel that the background characters are alive when you are reading through Katniss eyes and there are so many strange people in the districts with weird appearances that take the focus away from the actual plot. Some might find this a nice addition, but for me it’s more irritating and not creative in the way I would like it to be.

I was not too happy with the last three pages but the final sentences had me interested in what was going too happened in the next book. So overall it was better than expected but it is a very weak 7/10 since I’m not entirely pleased.

4 comments on “Catching Fire

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Actually, I thought the first book was better.

    • For me I hardly even remember the first book, as I read it with the wrong attitude and years ago but the parts I remember I was not too fond of. Though I did like the part with Rue since it’s one of the few parts I remember clearly. I’m still hoping that the third book will make me like the series a bit better than I do now. 🙂

  2. Interesting…Sometimes it’s nice to hear about someone who isn’t head-over-heels in love with the series. Even though I loved the first 2 books, it’s very refreshing, and I can really see where you’re coming from with all of your points.

    I would probably say that I ended up liking Catching Fire slightly more than Hunger Games, but WHATEVER you do, I feel obligated to warn you…

    I loved Hunger Games. I loved Catching Fire. I hated Mockingjay. Hated. Just warning you. I went in expecting to love it, but it didn’t quite work out that way. Though, you never know, it’s different for everyone. 🙂

    • I agree sometimes it could be interesting to get a critical point of view to something that you like a lot, because it can give you some perspective. I liked Catching Fire a lot more than the first book but I’m still not in love with the plot development. I still love the idea behind the books even though I may not like the rest so much. Sorry to hear that the last one disappointed you. I doubt that Mockingjay will do so with me since I have no real expectations for it, so we’ll see what happens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

