The Perks Of Being A Wallflower


I’m back and I brought a review of a movie I had big anticipations for. It is based on the same titled novel by Stephen Chbosky and it’s a coming-of-age movie from 2012. The movie gained a lot of hype because of the fact that Emma Watson has one of the major roles in the movie and it’s one of the few movies she is in that aren’t Harry Potter related. Surprisingly I found myself recognizing most of the major cast which made the movie a bit extra fun to watch.

Like I said it’s a coming-of-age movie and it centers on a high school freshmen who is very introverted and ends up befriending two seniors. In the movie we get to follow his development from having a negative view of life and eventually ends up in a strange group of friends. The problem is that the main character is not completely well and therefore we also get to see how his mental health affects the plot a bit.

Seeing so many actors I recognized playing their parts very well made the movie fun to watch. I also liked the Idea of the main character having a bit of a blurry past connected to his mental issues. It made you more attentive on what was going on during the scenes you expected flashbacks, blurriness and otter things to pop up.

Unfortunately this also caused an uncertainness for the viewer as you were sometimes confused when a quick scene would paper and then suddenly end, leaving you wondering if it was all in his head and if it was important for the storyline.

For me the actors saved the movie and the plot was only slightly above good. This was something I did not expect at all so I was slightly disappointed.

In the visual aspect there is not much to complain about since everything looked clean. I would recommend the movie because of its potential and its good reviews but not really because of what actually happened in the movie. I also feel that if you do not find book repulsing I think it would be better for you to read the book, even though I have not done so.

In the end the plot was an interesting idea, I liked some parts of it more than others, but by the way the plot was carried out a really promising movie turned out to be not so great after all. 6 / 10

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1659337/

6 comments on “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    The film really captures the experiences in ones teenage years so well.

    • I actually don’t think it did capture it that well, but I’m glad that many people out there seem to think so since many coming-of-age stories contains the same boring things.

  2. williamjepma says:

    Yep, I love the longer reviews. 🙂

  3. Julia Andersson says:

    Hello Louise! You know that I read your blog and beacuse you made a review about a wonderful movie that I love I thought that I would say hello 😀 So…. Hello 😀

Leave a Reply

