The Hunger Games


This was one of the most anticipated movies of 2012 so I was surprised that I had not written about it yet. It is an action adventure movie set in a nation called Panem. Inside the nation there are numbered districts from 1-12 with 1 being the riches people and 12 consisting of the poorest ones. Once a year two participants between 12 and 18 years and from all districts are gathered to participate in a game named the hunger games. The game takes place in an arena and it is the kids’ mission to stay alive and try to kill each other, because in the end only the winner survives and the whole thing is broadcast in live TV in all districts.

I found the plot quite interesting and it was something I had not seen before. The concept of the games and the districts were really good. They were also rather creative with costumes like blue haired guys and strange people in the upper class districts. The problem with those characters for me was that it did not give me a genuine feeling. I’m all for weird and crazy events, but it was not in the way I wanted it to be.

When the games began and the participants were in the arena the scenery became much better and it was mainly done the way I imagined it. The only problem I had there was that based on the book I thought it would be a lot more brutal than it was. It is supposed to be really tragic since its kids murdering kids, but I almost felt none of that. I know that that’s mainly because of the PG-13 limit, but in my case it made the movie feel less real and believable.

In the end they might have failed on some aspects it was still a good movie and I’d recommend it to the once who want a pretty innovative concept. 6 / 10

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1392170/

Image

One comment on “The Hunger Games

  1. […] I am one of the few people who don’t adore Jennifer Lawrence.  I have only seen her in the Hunger Games, but there I was not so impressed. This time it’s a bit better, tough I am not completely blown […]

Leave a Reply

